Academic Team

Chairman, Dr. Bruce Forster


Dr. Bruce Forster is Professor and Head at the University of British Columbia, Department of Radiology, and Director of the UBC, Office of Academic Innovation. He was recently the Regional Department Head and Medical Director, Diagnostic Imaging, Vancouver Coastal Health and Providence Health Care and Director of Diagnostic Imaging for the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics/Paralympics Games. As an Associate Member of the Allan McGavin Sports Medicine Centre, he has been involved in the clinical, education, and research aspects of sports imaging for 25 years, is Consultant to the Editor for the journal ‘Radiology’ and Associate Editor of the ‘British Journal of Sports Medicine’. Dr. Forster has delivered over 300 invited lectures, many internationally, and has served as a Visiting Professor in Canada, the United States, Indonesia, Singapore, Japan, and the Middle East. He is the author of over 120 peer-reviewed scientific publications, and 115 educational exhibits, and has served as President of the Pacific Northwest Radiology Society, and on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Association of Radiologists and is currently on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Radiologic Foundation. Dr. Forster is Lead Physician for ‘Choosing Wisely Medical Imaging’ one of the most comprehensive appropriateness initiatives in the Province, and serves as Chair of the CAR/CRF/UBC Radiology Leadership and Business Course, in collaboration with the Sauder School of Business.





Vice-Chair Research, Dr. Jonathon Leipsic

drjonathanDr. Leipsic is the Chairman of the Department of Radiology for Providence Health Care and the Vice Chairman of Research for the UBC Department of Radiology.  He is an Associate Professor of Radiology and Cardiology with the University of British Columbia.  Dr Leipsic is also a Canada Research Chair in Advanced Cardiopulmonary Imaging. He recently has taken on the role of Medical Imaging Regional Department Head of Vancouver Coastal Health and Providence Healthcare. Dr. Leipsic has over 325 peer reviewed manuscripts in press or in print, over 275 scientific abstracts, and editor of 2 textbooks. He speaks internationally on a number of cardiopulmonary imaging topics with over 150 invited lectures in the last 4 years. He is the Immediate Past President of the Society of Cardiovascular CT, the largest international society dedicated to Cardiac CT.





Vice-Chair, Undergraduate Education and Continuing Professional Development, Dr. Savvas Nicolaou

savvasDr. Nicolaou is Professor of Radiology, Vice-Chair of the Undergraduate Education and Continuing Professional Development for the UBC Department of Radiology, Head of the General Division of the Department of Radiology and the Director of Emergency/Trauma Radiology at Vancouver General Hospital. Dr. Nicolaou’s 14 year career at VGH and his passion for teaching have been recognized with numerous awards including the Bobby Miller Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2011, the UBC Medical Undergraduate Society Teaching Excellence Award in 2010 and 2011, the Teaching and Learning Enhancement Fund Award for UBC in 2008 and 2010, and the UBC Clinical Skills Teaching Merit of Excellence in 2007, as well as a Certificate of Merit from the American Roentgen Ray Society in 2011 and two from the Radiological Society of North America in 2010. He has authored over 80 peer-reviewed scientific publications and over 90 educational exhibits. He is one of Canada’s most experienced educators in Emergency Radiology, and his lectures locally, nationally and internationally accordingly reflect his dedication, expertise and outstanding collaborative skills.




Vice-Chair Medical Informatics, Dr. Timothy O’Connell


Dr. O’Connell is Clinical Assistant Professor, and an Emergency/Trauma Radiologist at VGH.  He completed his MD at the University of Toronto, his residency at UBC, and his fellowship at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston.  He is also a certified Imaging Informatics Professional, has a MSc in network engineering, and has been primarily responsible for the design and execution of numerous software interventions to improve patient safety and workflow management.






Vice-Chair Quality, Dr. Gerald Legiehn

Dr. Legiehn is Clinical Associate Professor, and an Interventional Radiologist, with a special interest in diagnosis and treatment of vascular malformations, at VGH.  He completed his MD at University of Manitoba, and his residency and fellowship at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore. He has been the Quality and Safety Officer at VGH for four years, during which time he completely overhauled several quality programs, in particular the Morbidity and Mortality Rounds, the latter of which have become a model of success.